Social/Emotional Resources

  • Social/Emotional Resources

    Forest Park School District 91 believes in the importance of social/emotional learning for all students. Our school social workers push into general education classrooms to teach all students expectations for being responsible, respectful, and safe. They use the Second Step Curriculum to supplement lessons and activities.

    What is the Second Step Curriculum?

    Second Step Social-Emotional Learning (SEL) provides students with the tools to excel in and out of the classroom. These easy-to-teach programs help students to make progress in emotion management, situational awareness, and academic achievement.

    Three-Tiered Approach to Successful Outcomes

    Our social work program works closely with our PBIS teams to ensure a three-tiered approach to meeting students’ needs. Tier two interventions may include “Check In-Check Out” (CICO), student mentor, staff mentor, Social Academic Instructional Groups (SAIG), or other small groups with the social worker. If the social worker plans to meet with your child more than 6 times throughout the school year, a letter will be sent home to obtain parents’ permission.

    To speak with your school social worker regarding any concerns, please see the staff list on this page or contact Michelle Hopper, Director of Student Services, at mhopper@fpsd91.org.  

  • Andrea Coco

    Betsy Ross Primary Center

    Social Worker

    acoco@fpsd91.org

    (708) 366-7498

    Emily Berman

    Garfield Primary Center

    Social Worker

    eberman@fpsd91.org

    (708) 366-6945

    David Droy

    Social Worker

    Field-Stevenson Intermediate

    ddroy@fpsd91.org

    (708) 366-5703

    Madeline Parrilli

    Social Worker

    Forest Park Middle School

    mparrilli@fpsd91.org

    (708) 366-5742

    Lucia Suarez

    Social Worker

    Grant-White Intermediate

    lsuarez@fpsd91.org

    (708) 366-5704